AZinItaly

A couple of Phoenicians living temporarily in Roma

The Sea

Bikiinis everywhere!

We had the opportunity to go to the sea (the beach at Ostia Lido outside of Rome, which is referred to as “the Sea”) a few weeks ago with our friend Riccardo.

He belongs to a lovely beach club located just off Christopho Columbo, the main road that leads from the city into Ostia. The sand at the sea is grey, but the water is clear and it’s cooler than being in the City Center.

The beach club has a swimming pool, changing rooms, a lovely restaurant, beach huts, and for 13 euro you get access to the facilities and a beach chair that is set up for you. The neighboring beaches are packed with people on the weekend, but this one’s less populated, which is lovely.

There are however, too many men wandering around selling everything from fresh coconuts, to beach towels to purses and even high heels! And the women! Everyone wears a bikini, regardless of her size.

Selling at the Sea

I had such a nice time at the beach that Sunday that I decided to venture there myself the other day. I packed my beach bag, went online to research the route via public transportation (a bus, then the train, then a short walk) and headed out the door.

I waited 20 minutes at the bus stop before actually looking up to discover, I was at the wrong bus stop! I went home frustrated and called Michael.

He encouraged me to try again after I figured out the right bus stop. So out I headed again, this time to the correct bus stop. And I waited. And waited. And waited. No bus.

It was late morning by now, so I went home, showered, deciding that I wasn’t really supposed to go to the beach that day. I headed out again, walking to the correct bus stop, and took the bus across town to see Castel Sant’Angelo. More about that adventure soon.

Buying on the beach

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “The Sea

  1. Eva Zeidner on said:

    Did the old women at least have tops on? I do like the notion that Europeans accept the human body in its natural state. After all, I’m still running around in a bikini and don’t really plan to stop any time soon – and I know I’m no swimsuit model! (Perhaps that’s why I’m popular with foreigners. LOL) Glad you’re having fun. Wish I could be there with you!

  2. Kristy Oncken on said:

    My God, the women really all do wear bikinis! Yikes!

  3. Jody Stern on said:

    Picturing you there amongst those women makes me smile! So glad you are enjoying it…sending only love. Enjoy your time and be well…

  4. Barb on said:

    Love reading about your adventures! Have fun and be safe.

  5. Lynn on said:

    All undressed and nowhere to go! Damn, lost in a foreign country in the heat …but hey, small price to pay for good food and good art 🙂

Leave a Reply

